Press entitled, Media Events: The Life Broadcasting of History.

"In addition to the legacy of his extensive research, his enormous contribution to the field of political communication can be seen in the extensive amount of collaborative work he has done with students and colleagues over the years. For the part he has played in all of our lives and work, please join us in congratulating Elihu Katz."

Ann Crigler, University of Southern California, and Timothy E. Cook, Williams College, were given the **Ithiel de Sola Pool Award** for best paper in political communication from the 1992 APSA meeting.

Political Organizations and Parties

The Samuel Eldersveld Award for lifetime achievement was given to Joseph Schlesinger, Michigan State University. The Leon Epstein Award for a book that has made a distinguished contribution to the field was given to Maurice Duverger, Les Partis Politiques (Paris: Colin, 1951). The Jack Walker Award for an article of unusual importance and significance to the field was given to Herbert McClosky, Paul Hoffman and Rosemary O'Hara, "Issue Conflict and Consensus among Party Leaders and Followers," American Political Science Review, 1964. The Emerging Scholars Award for significant research by a scholar receiving the doctorate within the past five years was given to Sean J. Savage, St. Mary's College. And the Distinguished Service Award, occasionally presented for unusual contributions to the Section, was given to John C. Green, University of Akron.

Politics and the Life Sciences

The Association for Politics and the Life Sciences Graduate Student Paper Award was given to Winifred Hodge, University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana.

Law and Courts

Henry J. Abraham, University of Virginia, was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award, which is awarded every three years to honor a career of scholarly distinction in the field of law and courts.

The C. Herman Pritchett Award

for best book in the field of law and courts authored by a political scientist in 1991 or 1992 was given to H. W. Perry, Harvard University, Deciding to Decide: Agenda Setting in the United States Supreme Court (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1991), and Herbert Kritzer, University of Wisconsin, Let's Make a Deal: Understanding the Negotiation Process in Ordinary Litigation (Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1991). The CQ Award for Best Paper in the law and courts field by a political science graduate student who authored or co-authored a paper was given to Julie Novkov, University of Michigan. The American Judicature Society Award for the best papers in the subfield of law and courts presented at the previous year's APSA Annual Meeting was given to Mark Graber, University of Maryland, "The Non-Majoritarian Difficulty: Legislative Deference to the Judiciary." Honorable mention went to Elliot E. Slotnick and Jennifer Segal, Ohio State University, "Television News and the Supreme Court."

Public Policy

The Award for Distinguished Contribution, which recognizes creative policy analysis that has had a significant influence on the course of American public policy, was given to Mollie Orshansky, the woman who developed the poverty measure used government-wide. This year marks the thirtieth anniversary of Ms. Orshansky's path-breaking publication, "Children of the Poor," an article which caught the attention of the Johnson administration and eventually shaped the way both federal statistical agencies and the War on Poverty programs measure poverty. Ms. Orshansky based her poverty estimates on surveys about the food budgets of families as well as studies about the cost of adequate diets.

Urban Politics

The Career Achievement Award for distinguished contributions to the study of urban politics throughout a career was given to Frederick Wirt, University of Illinois. The Best Book Award for the best book in urban politics published during the calendar year 1992 was given to Richard DeLeon, San Francisco State University, Left Coast City: Progressive Politics in San Francisco, 1975-1991 (Lawrence: University Press of Kansas, 1992).

Committee on the Status of Blacks Honors Scholars

The Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession held a reception in honor of Walter E. Beach, Helen Dwight Reid Educational Foundation, and Hanes Walton, Jr., University of Michigan, in September 3 for their scholarship, service to the profession, and leadership.

The reception was organized by Sheila Ard, committee chair, and Maurice C. Woodard, APSA staff associate.



Hanes Walton and Maurice Woodard at Committee on the Status of Blacks Reception. The reception honored Walton and Walter Beach.



Luis Fraga, chair of the Committee on the Status of Latinos, honors Rodolfo O. Garza on behalf of the Committee.

December 1993 835