New APSA Officers Elected

APSA President Lucius J. Barker presided at the Association's 1993 Annual Business Meeting September 4, where new officers were elected.

Sidney Verba, Harvard University, was elected president-elect; he will assume the office of president in 1994-95. David Brady, Stanford University; Paula McClain, University of Virginia; and Ronald Rogowski, University of California, Los Angeles, were elected to two-year terms as vice presidents.

Susan Bourque, Smith College, was elected to a three-year term as treasurer and John Aldrich, Duke University, was elected to a one-vear term as secretary. Eight new Council members were also elected to twoyear terms: John Garcia, University of Arizona; Barbara Geddes, University of California, Los Angeles; John Mark Hansen, University of Chicago; Anne Hopkins, University of Minnesota; Margaret Levi, University of Washington: Mamie Locke, Hampton University; William E. Nelson, Jr., The Ohio State University; and Michael Zuckert, Carleton College.

At the end of the meeting, Barker passed the gavel to Charles O. Jones to begin his term as president.

Travel Grants for Foreign Scholars Attending Annual Meeting

Fifty-eight foreign scholars were the recipients of travel grants to attend the 1993 APSA Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. Foreign graduate students attending U.S. universities were selected competitively and received travel money made available by the Huang Hsing Foundation, The Asia Foundation, and the APSA Council. More senior scholars who had been invited to participate at the Annual Meeting were also awarded travel funds by the APSA Council. Additional senior scholars were awarded travel grants through the United States Information Agency to participate in the Annual Meeting.

As part of a continuing exchange between APSA and the Japan Political Science Association, four Japanese political scientists attended the Annual Meeting and presented papers. The exchange program is supported by a grant to the APSA from the Japan-U.S. Friendship Commission, and is now in its fourth year of operation.

A list of the foreign grantees, their countries, and their U.S. affiliations follows:

Huang Hsing Foundation Grantees: Dong Li, P.R.C., Columbia University

Chih-Cheng Lo, Taiwan, University of California, Los Angeles Sandy Yeh, Taiwan, University of Illinois at Chicago

The Asia Foundation Grantees: Ming Yue, P.R.C., Cornell University

Liangping Guo, P.R.C., University of Washington

Ming Zhang, P.R.C., Purdue University

Baohui Zhang, P.R.C., University of Texas at Austin

Weiqing Zhou, P.R.C., Florida State University

Jennifer Liu, Taiwan, Claremont Graduate School

Franklin Y. C. Sun, Taiwan, University of Texas at Austin

Alexander Tan, Taiwan, Texas A&M University

Akitoshi Miyashita, Japan, Columbia University

Kozo Kato, Japan, Cornell University

Mikitaka Masuyama, Japan, University of Michigan

Heungsoo Shim, Korea, Tulane University

Migara O. De Silva, Sri Lanka, Washington University, St. Louis Pramod Kumar Kantha, Nepal, Uni-

versity of Missouri-Columbia Shariq Mahbub, Pakistan, Cornell University

Virginia Bacay, Philippines, University of Denver

Yongniah Zheng, P.R.C., Princeton University

APSA Council Grantees:
Maria Helena Guimaraes, Portugal,
University of Cincinnati

Luis Lobo-Fernandes, Portugal, University of Cincinnati

Kainan Hertz, Canada, Emory University

Kiran Asher, India, University of Florida

Rajat Ganguly, India, Tulane University

Nikolai Mikhailov, Russia, University of Rochester

Katalin Fabian, Hungary, Syracuse University

Baytoram Ramharack, Guyana, New York University

Andrew J. Taylor, United Kingdom, University of Connecticut

Debrix Francois Pierre, France, Purdue University

Gagnere Nathalie, France, University of Oklahoma

Betigul Ercan, Turkey, University of Texas at Austin

Volker Krause, Germany, University of Michigan

Senior Scholar Grants-

APSA Council Grantees:

Patrick M. Regan, University of Canterbury, NZ

Maureen Whitebrook, University of Sheffield, UK

Alistair McCulloch, Robt Gordon University, UK

Jos de Beus, University of Amsterdam, NL

David Miller, Nuffield College, UK

USIA Grantees:

Elaine Chan, University of Hong Kong

Ziemowit Pietras, Maria Curie-Skodowska University, Poland

David Tucker, University of Melbourne

Abdul Mashat, Cairo University Muhyi Nashashibi, Yarmouck University, Jordan

Momar Coumba Diop, Cheikh Anta Diop University, Senegal

Andres Serrano, Spanish Center for International Relations

Bernard Luis Alvares Harrera, Central University of Venezuela Todor Tanev, University of Sofia

Ilter Turan, Istanbul University Jacob Berkovitch, University of Canterbury

Pekka Kettunen, University of Turku Martin Palous, Charles University Gabriel Castano, Universidad de Los Andes

Tzong-Ho Bau, National Taiwan University

PS: Political Science & Politics