

The Mathematical Gazette



Welcome to the year which is the sum of these nine cubes

Volume 109 Number 574 March 45 × 45

MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION



THE MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION

THE MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION

AN ASSOCIATION OF TEACHERS AND STUDENTS OF ELEMENTARY MATHEMATICS

I hold every man a debtor to his profession, from the which as men of course do seek to receive countenance and profit, so ought they of duty to endeavour themselves by way of amends to be a help and an ornament thereunto.' BACON

THE COUNCIL

	PRESIDENT Mr Charlie Stripp MBE		CHAIR OF COUNCIL (ACTING) Dr Andy Kemp			
	IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT Dr Nira Chamberlain OBE		SECRETARY Dr Paul Harris			
	PRESIDENT DESIGNATE Professor Paul Glaister CBE			TREASURER Mr Sudeep Gokarakonda		
REPRESENTATIVES OF COMMITTEES						
BRANCHES			Mrs Cindy Hamill (C		(Chair)	
CHALLENGES			Dr Amanda Moon		(Chair)	
CONFERENCES MEMBERSHIP			Dr Andy Kemp (Chair)			
			Mrs Jemma Sherwood (Chair)			
	PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT			Mrs Louise Pennington (Chair)		
	PUBLICATIONS			Mrs Jill Trinder (Chair)		
	TEACHING COMMITTEE			Mrs Manina Tyler-Mort		
EDITO	R IN CHIEF	Vacant				
MEMBERS WITHOUT OFFICE		Miss Stella Dudzic Mrs Charlotte Hawthorne Mr David Miles		Miss Cherri Moseley Dr Chris Pritchard Mr Bill Richardson MBE		

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Ms Sandi Atkinson

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE OF THE MATHEMATICAL GAZETTE

EditorDr Gerry LevershaProduction EditorMr Bill RichardsonReviews EditorMr Owen TollerProblems EditorsMr Chris Starr, Dr Agnes Bokanyi-TothAssistant EditorsMr Tom Roper, Mr Colin Davis, Mr Michael Fox,
Mr Graham Howlett, Professor Adam McBride

Mrs Jo Morgan