Margaret Dorothy Fernandez; Liyanage Roland Terence Aloysius Fernando; Ellen Marie Anna Foley; Janet Elizabeth Foster; Peter William Francis; David Mbugua Gacengeci; Harish Mulraj Gadhvi; Nilani Pushpakanthi Gajawira; Bridget P. Gallagher; Kathleen Elizabeth Mary Ganter; Deirdre Anne Garvey; Christopher Martin Gillespie; Graham David Glancy; Alan Gordon; Ashok Kumar Gupta; Linda Ann Hardwick; Anna Catherine Higgitt; Jonathan William Hill; Paul Robert Hobbs; Nicholas Paul Holmes; Penelope Hopwood; Marian Hughes; David Alan Hunt; Michael Elwin Hunt; Muttucumary Sarva Isweran; Ashok Kumar Jain; Jagdish Natvarlal Jain; Heather Brown Johnston; David Samuel George Kay; Margaret Mary Ann Kent; Kristin Margaret Kerr; Kua EE Heok; Dissanayake Lekamalage Mayurawathie Kularatna; Vivek Kusumakar; Alan Stuart Lee; Leong Oil Ken; Anne Hazelwood Lister; Madelaine Rosemary Lyons; Andrew John Macaulay; Patricia Brigid McCarthy; Eimer Mary McGauran; Alison MacGregor; Idowu Oladunjoye Malomo; Sunil Lanka Manawadu; Consuelo Maria Marengo; Philip Herbert Mars; Ethna Mary Martin; Harnek Masih; Robin Paul Dickson Menzies; Nabil Mohammed Ali Mikati; Tibor Eugene Molnar; Margaret Anne Munro; Devakiamma Chandrasekharan Vasudevan Nair; Frances Mary Neilson; Ferdinand Ihenze Nnadi; Clare O'Connell; Marx Manasseh Odhiambo Okonji; Maureen O'Leary; Henri Olivier; Margaret Cairns Orr; Walter Edwin Jason Owino; Lamidi Kolawole

Oyewumi; Robert Alexander Harcourt Paterson; Eimer Mary Philbin Bowman; Kenneth Charles Piaggio; Norman Walter Poole; Dean Robert Gregory Price; Thirunellai Rajamanickam; Stephen Paul Reilly; David Henry Roy; Carolyn Ryan; Margaret Ryder; Francis Edward Searson; Sheila Margaret Zangwill Seltzer; Searson; Allan Murugesu Aiyampillai Selvaratnam; Oliver Edward Pattison Shanks; Radha Raman Sharma; Yvonne Pearl Shaw; Gilbert Shaw-Dunn; John Christopher Shemilt; Jane Pearce Shotter; Selvadurai Singanayagam; Darshan Singh; Satnam Singh; Antonio Siqueira; Liyana Arachchige Premachandra Sirisena; Martin Ralph William Smith; Portonovo Chockalingam Soundararajan; Rangasamudram Subramanyam Swaminath; Warren Russell Taff; Satyendra Nath Talukdar; John Christopher Taylor; Rajaluxmi Theva; Jeffery David Thompson; Margaret Jane Johnston Thompson; Philip Ademola Togun; David Stephen Tong Toh-Meng; Philip M. Trotter; Perce James Tucker; Jean Wyllie Tyrrell; Krishnarao Sitaramrao Vaddadi; Susanna Joan Van Marle Dimitrios Vlissides; Jonathan Waite; Zulfikarali Abdulrahim Wallani; Michael Wanigaratne; Heather Noelle Weir; Selladurai Wignarajah; Hattotuwa Chandrapala Wijewardena; Robert David Wilkins; David Gregor Wilkinson; Rolf Wille; David Neill Wilson; Elizabeth Natalie Marten Winchester; George Stewart Winslow; Anne Rosemary Zachary.

NEWS ITEMS

THE LAUGHLIN PRIZE

Through the generosity of Dr Henry P. Laughlin, of Bethesda, Maryland, the College has been able to institute a new prize to be known as 'The Laughlin Prize'. Dr Laughlin was the founder and first President of the American College of Psychiatrists. He has been a warm friend of the RMPA and the College for many years and has attended a number of our Annual Meetings, representing his College, the APA and the American Psychoanalytic Society. He was elected a Corresponding Member of the RMPA in 1961 and an Honorary Fellow of the College in 1976.

The Prize is awarded to the candidate who obtains the highest marks and the best recommendation from the Examiners in the Membership Examination. The Prize will be awarded twice a year after the Spring and Autumn Examinations, and the winner will receive a cheque for £50.

The winner for the May 1979 Membership Examination is Dr M. J. D. Hobbs.

PROFESSOR POND

The British Psychological Society has recently honoured the President of the College, Professor Desmond Pond, by making him an Honorary Fellow.

AVAILABLE FROM THE COLLEGE

Christmas cards, with the College coat of arms embossed in four colours: £1.80 per dozen. Postage, U.K. 20p. Overseas Air Mail £1.50.

Wall plaques, measuring 7 in by 6 in approximately and showing the College coat of arms in four colours, raised on a wooden shield of light oak: £5.50 each if bought at the College. Postage, U.K. 50p, overseas surface mail £1.00.

Ties, £3.00 each. Postage, U.K. 12p, overseas air mail 50p.

PSYCHOTHERAPY SECTION

The Psychotherapy Section announces the following Open Meetings for 1979-80:

Wednesday, 12 September, at 8.15 p.m.

What is Family Health and Ill Health? (including video presentation): Dr A. Bentovim and Dr W. Kinston

Wednesday, 10 October, at 8.15 p.m.

Ernest Jones: Innovator and Pioneer: Dr T. Main

Thursday, 15 November, at 4.30 p.m.

Personal Mystery and Reality in Psychotherapy: Dr Mark Aveline

(This meeting, held in conjunction with the Autumn Quarterly Meeting of the College, will be at the Institute of Psychiatry, De Crespigny Park, Denmark Hill, London, SE5)

Wednesday, 9 January, 1980, at 8.15 p.m.

Miss Audrey Newson, Chairman, British Association for Counselling (title to be announced)

Unless otherwise stated, these meetings will be held at the Tavistock Centre, 120 Belsize Lane, London, NW3.

EIGHTH PSYCHIATRIC TUTORS' CONFERENCE—26-28 SEPTEMBER 1979

As only a few applications for places at the Dublin Conference were received, the Clinical Tutors' Sub-Committee has reluctantly had to cancel the arrangements.

COLLEGE MEETINGS

Annual and Quarterly Meetings of the College will be held on the following dates in 1980:

Winter Quarterly Meeting 5 and 6 February (London)
Spring Quarterly Meeting 6 and 7 May (Broadmoor)
Annual Meeting 8-11 July (London)
Autumn Quarterly Meeting

20 and 21 November (London)

and on the following dates in 1981:

Winter Quarterly Meeting

10 and 11 February (London)
Spring Quarterly Meeting 28 and 29 April (Montrose)
Annual Meeting 7-9 July (venue to be announced)
Autumn Quarterly Meeting

18 and 19 November (London)



Psychiatrists at Work: Conference R. de Alarcon

ERRATUM

Dr Ranjith Chandrasena would like to correct an erroneous impression in his article ('Psychiatry in Sri Lanka: An overview', *Bulletin*, July 1979, p 119), regarding the administration of ECT in Sri Lanka.

ECT is administered in most centres without the aid of an anaesthetist and without the use of muscle relaxants, the psychiatrist himself injecting the intravenous anaesthetic.