# **NEWS**

## MEETING OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE, THE CLAY MINERALS SOCIETY

The Executive Committee of the Clay Minerals Society met on 17 February 1973 in Houston, Texas to resolve some of the problems which have arisen because of the death of our President, Dr. W. F. Bradley. The chief concerns were succession to the presidency, vice-presidency and to the position of "local" chairman for the 1975 meeting to be held jointly with the A.I.P.E.A. in Mexico City.

## New Officers

The action follows: Mrs. Katherine Mather, Vice-President under Prof. Bradley, became President for the term ending with the 1973 Banff, Alberta meeting; Dr. J. W. Jordan, Vice-President Designate, became Vice-President for the same term; and Dr. Richards A. Rowland accepted appointment as local chairman for the Mexico City meeting. If, in the 1973 election, the membership approves our customary order of succession, Dr. Jordan will be President for the term ending with the 1974 meeting in Cleveland, Ohio.

#### Bradley Memorial Issue

The Committee also decided to dedicate a future issue of Clays and Clay Minerals as a memorial to W. F. Bradley. The Distinguished Member Award, which was to have been presented to Dr. Bradley at the Banff meeting, will be awarded posthumously. It is expected that a family member will be present to accept. The presentation address will be published in the projected issue, together with selected papers in the areas of the honoree's research interests.

To provide adequate lead time, the dedicated issue will be Vol. 22 No. 1 and should appear in February 1974. Contributions intended for this issue should be so designated and *must* be received by the Editor prior to 1 September 1973.

### Central Office Facility

Other action by the Committee brought into being our long-awaited Central Office Facility. This step was accomplished by contracting for these services from an independent contractor. Effective immediately, the official address of The Clay Minerals Society is P.O. Box 42286, Houston, Texas 77042, U.S.A.

#### ANNUAL SUSTAINING MEMBERS OF THE CLAY MINERALS SOCIETY

Amoco Production Company
Anglo-American Clays Corporation
Babcock and Wilcox Company
Continental Oil Company
Freeport Kaolin Company
General Refractories Company
Georgia Kaolin Company
A. P. Green Refractories Company
Halliburton Company
J. M. Huber Corporation, Clay Division
Magcobar Operations, Dresser Industries
Marathon Oil Company
Thiele Kaolin Company
Union Oil Company of California
United Sierra Division, Cyprus Mines Corporation