Sophie Body-Gendrot, Universite de Paris-Sorbonne

APSA-JPSA Exchange Program-Visiting Japanese Scholars: Shin-ichi Kitaoka, Rikkyo University Mitsuru Uchida, Waseda University Yutaka Tsujinaka, Tsukuba University

Jun Lio, Saitama University

Short Courses Offered at Annual Meeting

Seven Organized Sections offered short courses this year at the annual meeting. Political Organization and Parties: The Changing Ideology of the Parties, led by John White, Catholic University, and Eric Uslaner, University of Maryland; History and Politics: The Turn to History in the Study of American Politics, led by Stephen Skowronek, Yale University, and Jeffrey Tulis, University of Texas at Austin; International Security and Arms Control: Teaching About Security in a Changing World, led by Joyce Kaufman, Whittier College: Federalism and Intergovernmental Relations: The Clinton Administration and the Prospects for Reinventing Federalism. led by Stephen Schecter, Russell Sage College; Politics and Life Sciences: Politics and the Life Sciences: Methods Workshop, led by James Schubert, Northern Illinois University, and Roger Masters, Dartmouth College; Law and Courts: Using and Abusing Data in the Study of Law and Courts: A Hands-On Demonstration and Discussion, led by Lee Epstein, Washington University, and Leslie Goldstein, University of Delaware; Public Policy: Beyond Refereed Journals: Writing About Politics for Popular Audiences, led by Robert Kuttner, co-editor, The American Prospect, Deborah Stone, Brandeis University, and Martin Kessler, president, Basic Books.

The Association continued its successful Leading Scholars Series for Graduate Students, featuring Richard Fenno, Jr., University of Rochester. In addition, Stephen Brams, New York University, led a course entitled Game Theory, Case Studies and International Relations; and a consortium of instructors including Francis Graham Lee, St. Joseph's University; Margot Baker, Southern Methodist University; Leo Flynn, Pomona College; Jack Fruchtman, Towson State University; Frank X. J. Homer, University of Scranton; Beth Cobb O'Neil, Law School Admission Services; Jerry Polinard, University of Texas Pan American; Don Racheter, Central University; and Gerald Wilson, Duke University, offered a course on Pre-Law Advising and the Political Scientist.

APSA's Bunche Students Attend Annual Meeting

Eight of ten students participating in the Ralph Bunche Summer Institute attended the APSA's Annual Meeting. The students were recognized at the reception given by the Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession.

The Bunche Institute is hosted by a consortium of five Atlanta institutions: Spelman College, Emory University, Morehouse College, Clark Atlanta University, and Georgia State University. This year ten outstanding African American undergraduates who have demonstrated potential in the field of political science were selected to attend the six-week program whose purpose is to encourage enrollment in graduate school. This vear students from ten different academic institutions attended the Bunche Institute. Dr. Jeanne T. Meadows of Spelman College was the director of the 1993 Institute.

Funding for the Bunche Institute is generously provided by the Coca Cola Foundation, the U.S. Department of Education, the Graduate School of Emory University, and Georgia State University Foundation.

Application forms for the 1994 Ralph Bunche Summer Institute are available from APSA.

Women's Caucus for Political Science 1993-94 Officers

President: Professor Jennifer L. Hochschild, Princeton University; phone: (609) 258-5634; fax: (609) 258-2809. President-Elect: Associate Professor Toni M. Travis, George Mason University; phone: (703) 323-2272.

Secretary: Professor Emily R. Gill, Bradley University; phone: (309) 677-2493.

Treasurer: Dean Barbara B. Bardes, Raymond Walters College, University of Cincinnati; phone: (513) 745-5660; fax: (513) 745-5780.

Newsletter Editor: N/A.

Membership Director: Professor Liane Kosaki, University of Wisconsin-Madison; phone: (608) 263-2022.

Forty-Three Congressional Fellows to Begin 1993-94 Program in Early November

Winners of the competition for the 1993-94 Congressional Fellowship Program competition began their orientation in November and will spend nine months working in congressional offices.

Political Science Fellows

- Anne Marie Cammisa, assistant professor, department of political science, University of New Hampshire
- Sean Q. Kelly, assistant professor, department of political science, East Carolina University
- Ronald G. Shaiko, assistant professor, department of government, The American University (1993-94 William A. Steiger Congressional Fellow)
- Daniel Wirls, assistant professor of politics, University of California, Santa Cruz

Journalism Fellows

- Carol E. Buckland, news writer, Cable News Network, Atlanta (1993-94 Joan Shorenstein Barone Congressional Fellow)
- David Corvette, former general assignment reporter, *The Atlanta Journal-Constitution* (1993-94 Poynter Fellow)
- Barbara Joseph, political and federal affairs correspondent, *Topeka Capital-Journal*, Kansas
- Allen Kay, congressional issues reporter, WPOP, Connecticut State Network

December 1993