BULLETIN¹ OF THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

Editor: Sheila Oates-Williams

Deputy Editor: A.S. Jones

Honorary Editor: B.H. Neumann

ASSOCIATE EDITORS

Robert S. Anderssen	P. Diamond	G. Huisken	G.B. Preston
Alan L. Andrew	Peter G. Dodds	D.C.Hunt	J.H. Rubinstein
E.J. Billington	P. Donovan	B.D. Jones	Ross Street
J. Clark	J.R. Giles	P.E. Kloeden	G. Szekeres
B.D. Craven	J.R.J. Groves	K.L. McAvaney	D.G. Tacon
Brian A. Davey	J.A. Hempel	Sidney A. Morris	E.U. Tarafdar
Colin J. 7	Thompson A.J. van	der Poorten N.C. Webe	r

Colin J. Thompson

ASSISTANT EDITORS

K.G. Smith

G.A. Chandler

Information for Authors.

The Bulletin of the Australian Mathematical Society aims at quick publication of original research in all branches of mathematics. Timely expository articles are also welcomed.

To ensure speedy publication, editorial decisions on acceptance or otherwise are taken quickly, normally within a month of receipt of the paper. Papers are accepted only after a careful evaluation by the Editor and an Associate Editor or other expert in the field. As even minor revisions are generally not permitted, authors should read carefully all the details listed below and on the inside back cover. For a paper to be acceptable for publication, not only should it contain new and interesting results but also

- (i) the exposition should be clear and attractive, and
- (ii) the manuscript should be in publishable form, without revision.

Authors should submit three clean, high quality copies to

The Editor, Bulletin of the Australian Mathematical Society,

Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland,

St. Lucia, Queensland, 4067, Australia.

Unless requested at the time, material submitted to the Bulletin will usually not be returned. Note that each paper submitted must include an abstract and one or more classification numbers following the 1980 Mathematics Subject Classification. (1985 Revision)

Abstracts of Ph.D. Theses.

The Bulletin endeavours to publish abstracts of all accepted Australasian Ph.D. theses in mathematics. One restriction, however, is that the abstract must be received by the Editor within 6 months of the degree being approved.

¹ © Copyright Statement Where necessary, permission to photocopy for internal or personal use or the internal or personal use of specific clients is granted by the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing association, Inc., for libraries and other uses registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), provided that the base fee of \$A2.00 per copy of article is paid directly to CCC, 21 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970, U.S.A. Special requests should be addressed to the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., c/- Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Qld., 4067, Australia. Serial-fee code: 0004-9727/88 \$A2.00 + 0.00.

THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

President: G. I. Gaudry	School of Mathematical Sciences, Flinders University of South Australia, Bedford Park, S.A., 5042 Australia.	
Secretary: W. R. Bloom	School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Murdoch University, Murdoch, W.A., 6150, Australia.	
Treasurer: B. D. Jones	Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Queensland, 4067, Australia.	

(These officers serve until July 1989)

Membership and correspondence

Applications for membership, notices of change of address or title or position, members' subscriptions and correspondence related to accounts should be sent to the Treasurer. Correspondence about the distribution of the Society's BULLETIN, GAZETTE, and JOURNAL, and orders for back numbers should be sent to the Treasurer. All other correspondence should be sent to the Secretary.

THE BULLETIN

The BULLETIN of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1969. Normally two volumes of three numbers are published annually. The BULLETIN is published for the Australian Mathematical Society by the Australian Mathematical Publishing Association Inc. through the University of Queensland Press.

Other publications of the Society

The JOURNAL of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1959 and since 1975 has appeared in two series, Series A (Pure Mathematics and Statistics) and Series B (Applied Mathematics). The Editors are:

(A) Dr. T. E. Hall, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168, Australia. (B) Professor E. O. Tuck, Department of Applied Mathematics, University of Adelaide, G.P.O. Box 498, S.A. 5001, Australia.

The Australian Mathematical Society GAZETTE started publication in 1974, and carries news items, mathematical articles of general interest, and articles on tertiary mathematics teaching. Manuscripts for publication should be sent to the Editor:

Dr G. L. Cohen School of Mathematical Sciences University of Technology, Sydney PO Box 123 Broadway, NSW 2007, Australia

The Australian Mathematical Society LECTURE SERIES is a series of books published by Cambridge University Press. It is intended to contain both research monographs and textbooks suitable for graduate or undergraduate students. Typescripts should be sent to the Editor-in-Chief, Prof. S.A. Morris, Dept of Mathematics. Statistics and Computing Science, University of New England, Armidale, N.S.W. 2350.