Research and Training Support

private universities and colleges, government, and research organizations. Lecturers are selected by a faculty committee from the College's Social Sciences Program. It is the Series' intention to support the work of promising young scholars.

Each lecture consists of a 45-minute formal presentation on a topic which will later be expanded into a book of approximately 125 pages. The lecturer is also considered a visiting scholar who is expected to visit appropriate classes and meet with faculty and staff at the College for a day.

The Lecture Series, through its contractual agreement with Rutgers University Press, provides a subsidy for the publication of each manuscript. The publication agreement identifies the College Association at Delhi, a non-profit corporation, as the author of record. The College Association subcontracts to each lecturer for a manuscript. Rutgers University Press determines the acceptability of each manuscript. Initially, a portion of the royalties from each published manuscript is paid back to the Sanford-Erpf Series. All royalties thereafter are assigned by the College Association to the lecturer.

The Lecture Series provides each lecturer a stipend, half of which is paid when the lecture is delivered (excluding lecturer's expenses); the other half is paid when an acceptable manuscript is submitted for publication.

For further information, contact: Professor George Misner, General Studies Division, State University of New York, Agricultural and Technical College, Delhi, New York 13753.

Rockefeller Foundation Humanities Fellowships

The Rockefeller Foundation has announced a program of awards for 1979-80 to support the production of works of humanistic scholarship intended to illuminate and assess the values of contemporary civilization. The focus will be on the contemporary experience and its dilemmas as well as on long-range perennial and universal human concerns. The deadline for first state applications is October 1, 1978. For a detailed copy of the program announcement, write to Rockefeller Foundation Humanities Fellowships, The Rockefeller Foundation, 1133 Avenue of the Americas, New York, New York 10036.

1979-80 Judicial Fellows Program

Political scientists are invited to apply for the 1979-80 Judicial Fellows Program. The Program, patterned after the White House and Congressional Fellowships, attracts outstanding talent from multi-disciplinary backgrounds. Two Fellows will be chosen to spend 1979-80 observing and contributing to projects attempt-

ing to improve judicial administration. An additional purpose of the Program is to promote those individuals who will not only make a contribution during their year as Judicial Fellows, but who will continue to make a contribution to judicial administration in the future.

Now entering its seventh year, the Program is administered by the National Academy of Public Administration. It was instituted through grants from the American Bar Endowment, the Ford Foundation, and the Edna McConnell Clark Foundation.

Candidates should have at least one postgraduate degree, at least two years of professional experience, and preferably, familiarity with the judiciary. Stipends for the Fellowships will be based on comparable government salaries. The Fellowships begin in September, 1979, and have a duration of one year. The application deadline is November 3, 1978.

Application information and literature on the Program are available on request from Mark W. Cannon, Executive Director of the Judicial Fellows Commission, Supreme Court of the United States, Washington, D.C. 20543.

Announcement of Awards

1978 German Marshall Fund Fellows

Five political scientists have been appointed Research Fellows for 1978-79. The German Marshall Fund Fellowship provides support for cross-national analyses of political, economic and social issues. The purpose is to improve understanding of issues common to advanced industrial societies. The Fellows are: Ronald Brickman, Cornell University; Douglas Hibbs, Jr., Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ira Katznelson, University of Chicago; Lynn Mytelka, Carleton University, Ottawa; and Robert Putnam, University of Michigan.

1977-78 Fulbright-Hays Awards to Americans for University Lecturing and Advanced Research Abroad

Six political scientists have been selected for Fulbright-Hays Awards for University Lecturing and Advanced Research Abroad. The political scientists and the countries they will visit are: Lucius A. Butler, University of Hawaii, Cyprus; Edgar Litt, University of Connecticut, Germany; L. Harmon Zeigler, University of Oregon, Germany; Emmet V. Mittlebeeler, American University, Nigeria; Mary E. Fischer, Skidmore College, Romania; Mary R. J. Martz, Clemson University, Venezuela.

American Council of Learned Societies/Social Science Research Council Awards

The American Council of Learned Societies and the Social Science Research Council have announced the following awards:

Advanced Language in East Asia: Brantley Womack, University of Texas, Dallas.

Research in Humanities and Related Social Sciences: Amy Gutmann, Princeton University; Denis Lacorne, University of California, Irvine.

Program on Eastern European Studies: Roger E. Kanet, University of Illinois.

NSF Awards

George E. Hudson of Wittenberg University has been awarded a National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship. The awards are aimed at helping to meet national requirements for talented young scientists capable of applying their knowledge of science and technology to societal problems. Dr. Hudson will hold his fellowship at the Smithsonian Institution.

William Welsh of the University of Iowa and Nancy Zingale of the College of St. Thomas, Minnesota, have been awarded grants for improvement of undergraduate science courses and NSF's Local Course Improvement Program.

Rockefeller Foundation Humanities Awards

Three political scientists were among 35 winners of the 1977-78 Rockefeller Foundation Humanities Awards. They are:

Robert Meister, University of California, Santa Cruz: Institutions and Individual Rights: Morality, Politics and Law.

Terry Nardin, State University of New York at Buffalo: International Law and the Moral Structure of World Politics.

David Spitz, Hunter College and CUNY Graduate Center: Toward a Contemporary Theory of Liberalism.