Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science

Volume 14 1948

Reprinted with the permission of the original publisher by
Periodicals Service Company
Germantown, NY
2013

Printed on acid-free paper.

This reprint was reproduced from the best original edition copy available.

NOTE TO THE REPRINT EDITION:

In some cases full page advertisements which do not add to the scholarly value of this volume have been omitted.

As a result, some reprinted volumes may have irregular pagination.

The Canadian Journal of Economics Revue canadienne d'Economique and Political Science et de Science politique

VOLUME / TOME XIV
1948

Reprinted by

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO PRESS

1968

The

Canadian Political Science Association

President, H. F. ANGUS

Past Presidents
V. W. BLADEN
F. A. KNOX

Vice-Presidents
S. BATES
W. B. HURD
G.-H. LEVESQUE
H. A. LOGAN

Secretary-Treasurer
C. B. MACPHERSON

Assistant Secretary-Treasurer
M. P. O'CONNELL

Elected Members of the
Executive Council
G. E. BRITNELL
B. BROUILLETTE
J. H. G. DALLYN
W. E. DUFFETT
E. FORSEY
O. HALL
K. F. HELLEINER
H. W. HEWETSON
C. M. ISBISTER

O. W. MAIN
R. E. MOFFAT
L. RICHTER
M. C. URQUHART
F. M. WATKINS

Representatives of the Board of Editors of the Journal

G. A. ELLIOTT J. E. HODGETTS

The Canadian Political Science Association was founded in 1913, and reorganized in 1929. The object of the Association is to encourage the investigation and study of economic, political, and social problems in Canada.

Annual Subscription \$4.00 Student Subscription \$2.00

The Association welcomes as members all who are interested in its objects. Members receive a copy of The Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science, published quarterly for the Association by the University of Toronto Press.

Applications for membership should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer, 278 Bloor St. W., Toronto, Ontario.

Printed in U.S.A.

THE CANADIAN JOURNAL OF ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

BOARD OF EDITORS

S. D. CLARK, University of Toronto

W. B. Hurd, McMaster University

J. E. HODGETTS, Queen's University

B. S. KEIRSTEAD, McGill University

Managing Editor: G. A. ELLIOTT, University of Toronto

EDITORIAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

H. F. Angus (Chairman)

S. Bates	O. HALL	H. A. Logan
V. W. Bladen	K. F. HELLEINER	C. B. Macpherson
G. E. BRITNELL	H. W. Hewetson	O. W. Main
B. BROUILLETTE	W. B. Hurd	R. E. Moffat
J. H. G. DALLYN	C. M. Isbister	L. RICHTER
W. E. Duffett	F. A. Knox	M. C. Urquhart
E. Forsey	GH. Levesque	F. M. WATKINS

Editorial Office, Baldwin House, University of Toronto

Business Office, The University of Toronto Press

All Correspondence relating to the business of the Canadian Political Science
Association should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer
273 Bloor St. W., Toronto, Ontario