## Alabama A&M Chapter Members Named NASA Space Grant Fellows

Three members of the Alabama A&M University Chapter of MRS have been named NASA Space Grant Fellows in a statewide competition sponsored by the Alabama Space Grant Consortium, a participant in NASA's National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program.

Deon T. Williams, a graduate student working toward an MS in applied physics and materials science, received a one-year, renewable fellowship for \$20,000 for his research proposal on "Fabrication of Gallium Arsenide Solar Cells."

Trent Griffin, an undergraduate student working toward a BS in applied physics and materials science, received a one-year, renewable fellowship for \$3,000 for his proposal, "Degradation Study of Steel Alloy 440C."

Navaez L. Stinson, an undergraduate student working toward a BS in applied physics and materials science, received a one-year, renewable fellowship for \$3,000 for his proposal to study "Growth of Some Solution-Grown Crystals in Gel Media."

Daryush Ila, faculty adviser for the Alabama A&M University Chapter of MRS, is also Williams' and Griffin's research supervisor. Stinson's research supervisors are A. Batra and R. Lal.

NASA Space Grant Fellowships are awarded based on academic excellence and correspondence of research and career interests with NASA's requirements. The fellowship program is designed to encourage interdisciplinary training and research, and to prepare professionals for careers in aerospace science, technology, and allied fields. Recipients are expected to follow a multidisciplinary course of study that includes an approved extramural experience at a NASA facility.

## Alfred University Chapter Elects Officers

The MRS University Chapter at Alfred University has elected 1990 officers who have two things in common—they all are working toward their PhDs and are in the ceramic science and engineering program at Alfred. They are: John Wight, President; Jim Fagan, Vice President; and David Di-Carlo, Secretary/Treasurer. They can be contacted by mail at the McMahon Building, Alfred University, Alfred, NY 14802.



Faculty adviser for the Alabama A&M University Chapter of MRS, Daryush Ila (left), with NASA Space Grant Fellows (left to right) T. Griffin, N.L. Stinson, and D.T. Williams.

## Northwestern Reports Growth, Officer Elections

Although the election of 1990 officers was the recent order of business for the MRS University Chapter at Northwestern University, the chapter is most proud about its success to date. "We are excited to see our Chapter growing, most quickly among first-year graduate students who are so essential to building a strong University Chapter," said Chapter President Todd E. Steyer.

Elected as officers are: President, Todd E. Steyer Northwestern University Department of Materials Science and Engineering 2145 Sheridan Road Evanston, IL 60208 Telephone (708) 491-2140 Fax (708) 491-4133

Vice President, Ali Asgar Dhinojwala Northwestern University Department of Chemical Engineering 2145 Sheridan Road Evanston, IL 60208 Telephone (708) 491-8132 Secretary/Treasurer, Cheryl Knepfler Northwestern University

Northwestern University
Department of Materials Science and
Engineering
2145 Sheridan Road
Evanston, IL 60208
Telephone (708) 491-5094

## North Carolina Announces New Officers

The MRS North Carolina University Chapter has elected its officers for 1990. They are:

President, John Prater Army Research Office Materials Science Division P.O. Box 12211 Research Triangle Park, NC 27709 Telephone (919) 549-0641

Vice President, Carl C. Koch Department of Materials Science & Engineering North Carolina State University Raleigh, NC 27695-7907 Telephone (919) 737-7340

Treasurer, Max L. Swanson Department of Physics and Astronomy University of North Carolina Phillips Hall CB #3255 Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3255 Telephone (919) 962-0305

Secretary, Angus Kingon Department of Materials Science and Engineering North Carolina State University Raleigh, NC 27695 Telephone (919) 737-2347

