Introduction

ANDREW POPP

Copenhagen Business School

Welcome to Volume 23, No. 4 of *Enterprise and Society*. This issue marks the end of my second term as Editor-in-Chief at the journal. It has been agreed that I will serve a third term. This is a role I continue to derive great satisfaction and enjoyment from and I feel honored by the continuing trust of the Business History Conference, our authors, reviewers, and—far from least—readers. I believe that the journal has been going from strength to strength in recent years and I will devote all my energies to maintaining that trajectory.

As always, this issue carries the Presidential Address and the Krooss Prize summaries. This year's Presidential Address was given by Andrea Lluch on the topic of "Embracing Complexity and Diversity in Business History: A Latin American Perspective." There were four Krooss Prize finalists in 2022: Bench Ansfield on "Born in Flames: Arson, Racial Capitalism, and the Reinsuring of the Bronx in the Late Twentieth Century;" Ian Kumekawa on.

"Imperial Schemes: Empire and the Rise of the British Business-State, 1914-1939;" Andrey Shlyakhter on "Smuggler States: Poland, Latvia, Estonia, and Contraband Trade Across the Soviet Frontier, 1919-1924;" and Hannah Knox Tucker on "Masters of the Market: Ship Captaincy in the British Atlantic, 1680-1774." As ever, these summaries demonstrate quality and originality of the work being done by our community of emerging scholars. This year's Krooss Prize was awarded to Bench Ansfield.

Alongside these regular features this issue carries a rich suite of seven full research articles that take us from medieval England to twentieth-century Australia via the early-modern Atlantic World, the Irish Republic, the Netherlands, Miami, and Detroit (incidentally, the destination for the Business History Conference annual meeting in 2023). Once more, via the Presidential Address, the Krooss Prize summaries, and this spread of articles, I feel confident that *Enterprise and Society* is more than fulfilling its mission to represent and expand the depth and breadth of business history research.

As is traditional in the introduction to the final issue of the year I want to express my heartfelt thanks to a number of people. There are, of course, our Associate Editors—Shane Hamilton, Per Hansen, Andrea Lluch, and Sharon Murphy—as well as the full Editorial Board. As always, I am deeply in debt to Carol Lockman of the Hagley Library for editorial assistance, to Adam Albright, also of the Hagley Library, for his ever wonderful cover designs, and to Roger Horowitz and Vicki Howard as BHC Treasurer and Secretary respectively for their continuous support. For various reasons, there has been more work than normal over the last twelve months for the Print Media Oversight Committee, which has comprised Xavier Duran,

[©] The Author(s), 2022. Published by Cambridge University Press on behalf of the Business History Conference. All rights reserved.

Marc Levinson, and Julia Yongue (Chair this year). I remain deeply appreciate of the colleagues we work with at Cambridge University Press. For once I want to mention a specific name, Brian Mazeski, who has recently moved on from his role as Senior Content Manager. For several years Brian has been our principal point of contact at the press. It has been a wonderful working relationship and the timely appearance of the journal has owed as much to Brian as to any other individual. Finally, last but far from least, our thanks to our authors, for submitting such stimulating work, to our readers, for their continuing appetite for the best new work, and to our reviewers for their unstinting labor. This Introduction closes by listing the names of those who have served as reviewers over the last twelve months.

Cécile ArmandEwan GibbsMatthew BaileyThibaud GiddeyErik BakerErik GreenGrace BallorJohn HandelVictoria BarnesJulie HardwickAkram BenjaminGregory Hargreaves

Robert Bennett Emma Hart

Eloisa Betti Ellen Hartigan-O'Connor

Carolyn Biltoft Colin Haslam Carlo Brambilla, David Higgins Blake Brown Derek Hoff Marcelo Bucheli Jane Humphries Sverre Christensen Orsi Husz Sally Clarke Owen Hymen Damian Clavel Nigel Jackson Chris Corker Sophie Jones Heather Joshi Mila Davids

Abe De Jong Emery Kalema
Austin Dean Sven Kube
Pierre Desrochers Arun Kumar
Alexa Dietrich Pamela Laird
Pierre-Yves Donzé Joe Lane

Thomas DuBois Carlos Larrinaga
Samuel Edquist Mats Larsson
Pierre Eichenberger Jessica Levy

Sarah Elvins Ida Lunde Jørgensen

Maria Fernandez-Moya

James Fichter

Carles Manera

Xaq Frohlich

Amy Friode

David Mason

Eric Godelier

Leigh Gardner

Valeria Giacomin

Karen Maher

Carles Manera

Emily Masghati

David Mason

Catherine Medici

Ashton Merck

Ghassan Moazzin Michael Schiltz Simon Mollan Peter Scott

Duncan Money Rebecca Sharpless
Jonathan Morris Andrew Smith
Retief Muller Anna Soulsby
Mary-Elizabeth Murphy Joshua Specht
Benjamin Möckel Christian Stutz

Pius Nyambara Lakshmi Subramanian

Timothy Taylor David Nye Vanessa Ogle Steven Topik Jari Ojala Geoffrey Traugh Diana Paton Chibuike Uche Robin Pearson Shawn Van Ausdal Jason Petrulis Christoph Viebig Jamie Pietruska Mattie Webb Shawn Van Ausdal Leon Prieto

William Quinn
Aparajith Ramnath
Erika Rappaport
Milagros Rodriquez
Roy Tirthankar

Snawn Van Ausd
Nicholas Wong
Chenxiao Xia
Dong Yan
Timon de Groot

Matthew Schauer Lourens van Haaften

Janick Schaufelbuehl Elise van Nederveen Meerkerk

Cite this article: POPP, ANDREW. "Introduction." Enterprise & Society 23, no. 4 (2022): 889–891.