Association News

Margaret Richardson David W. Rohde Barbara Rosenfeld Alan Rosenthal Catherine Rudder Wilma Rule Paul Rundquist Alexander Schratt Roberta Sigel Barbara Sinclair Henry Sirgo Steven Smith Robert Strong Terry Sullivan James A. Thurber Thomas van der Voort Mollie van Heuven Thomas Vocino Barbara Vobejda Shuichi Wada Charls Walker Richard Warden Bonnie S. Whyte Aaron Wildavsky Eddie N. Williams Raymond Wolfinger Kazuo Yamauchi Cheryl D. Young Norbert Y. Zucker

Grants from these organizations:
The Asia Foundation
International Business Machines
Knight-Ridder, Inc.
MCI Communications Corporation
Foundation
The New York Times Company
Foundation
Poynter Fund
Walter H. and Phyllis J. Shorenstein
Foundation

Heinz Eulau Award Heinz Eulau

Kirkpatrick Fund Walter E. Beach Frank Feigert

Latino Fellowship Angelo Falcon

Victoria Schuck Award Victoria Schuck Mary C. Segers

Trust and Development Fund
Henry Bain
Walter E. Beach
Henry Bienen
Peter Bjornson
Richard Brody
Allan R. Brown
Ayse Ceyhan
Lemmetj Coleman
Philip Converse
Brian Christjohn
Eugene Davidson
Leon Epstein
Elliott Fagerberg

James W. Fesler Frances Lai Fung-wai Henry C. Galant Robert L. Goerder Jerome B. Guill Mehrdad Haghayeghi Akira Hattori Arnold Heidenheimer Ned V. Joy Joyce K. Kallgren Francis J. Keenan Anthony King Paul Kromer Robert E. Lane Robert Lorish Leopoldo Lovelace Samuel Magdad Robert Maranto Constantine Menges Jack H. Mower Burton B. Moyer, Jr. Yoshio Murakami Kenton Odums Koichiro Oishi Franklin Patterson Pamela Pelletreau Joel Peters William Pielsticker Alan Pfeffer Lucian W. Pye Benjamin Rowe Cassandra Ryan Roberta Sigel Howard Silver Richard Sisson Brian Vismale Guntram Werther James Q. Wilson

Wilson Appoints Thomas E. Mann 1992 Program Chair

Ivan Zavala

APSA President-Elect James Q. Wilson, UCLA, has appointed Thomas E. Mann of the Brookings Institution 1992 Program Chair. The 1992 meeting will be held at the Palmer House in Chicago, Illinois, on September 3-6.

The 1992 Program will continue this year's practice of integrating the Organized Sections with the Program Committee sections. Consequently, the 1992 Program Committee represents 27 Organized Sections and 13 additional program sections. Under a Council "rule of three" policy, each Organized Section was asked to nominate three candidates to be section head for that Organized Section's field. The Program Chair then selected one of the three nominees to



Thomas E. Mann

serve on the 1992 Program Committee. In addition, Mann selected other members of the Program Committee to handle parts of the Program not covered by the Organized Sections. The APSA Council subsequently approved all appointments to the 1992 Program Committee.

In the Call for Papers below, the Program section heads appointed through the "rule of three" are indicated with an asterisk (*).

Call for Papers: 1992 Annual Meeting

Paper proposals and offers to appear as discussants or panel chairs should be submitted as soon as possible. The deadline for receipt of submissions is December 1, 1991. Proposals for whole panels are welcome, but persons with suggestions for panels should get their requests in early.

Please write directly to the appropriate Program Committee section head listed below. More general inquiries or suggestions may be addressed to the Program Chair or to Jennifer Hacha, Convention Coordinator, APSA, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20036; (202) 483-2512.

Prospective participants should be aware of two APSA Council policies:

1. Acceptance of a proposal by the Program Committee obligates you to preregister (with appropriate fee) prior to June 1, 1992. If you fail to preregister, you will not be

564 PS: Political Science & Politics