the best book on women and politics, went to Mary Fainsod Katzenstein of Cornell University for her "provocative and encouraging work," Faithful and Fearless: Moving Feminist Protest Inside the Church and Military (Princeton University Press).

University of Colorado faculty member Rodney Hero was awarded the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award for Faces of Inequality: Social Diversity in American Politics (Oxford University Press).

Full citations for all awards appear in the Gazette section of this issue. For details on the awards process for 2000, visit www.apsanet.org/ about/awards.

New Officers and Council Elected

Robert Keohane, James B. Duke Professor of Political Science at Duke University, became the Association's ninety-sixth president on September 4 at the APSA's annual business meeting. Outgoing president Matthew Holden Jr., University of Virginia, presented Keohane with the Association gavel, enacting the transition. Joining Keohane in guiding the Association are six new officers and eight council members.

Formerly Stanfield Professor of International Peace at Harvard University, where he served for four years as chair of the department of government, Keohane has also taught at Swarthmore College, Stanford University, and Brandeis University. He received his B.A. from Shimer College in 1961 and his Ph.D. from Harvard University in 1966. He is the author of After Hegemony: Cooperation and Discord in the World Political Economy (Princeton University Press, 1984), for which he received the second annual Grawemeyer Award for Ideas Improving World Order in 1989. A former member of the APSA Council, he was president of the International Studies Association in 1988-89. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and has held a Guggenheim fellowship and fellowships at the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, the Rockefeller Foundation Center at Bellagio, Italy, and the National Humanities Center.

Centennial Campaign Exceeds Goals for First Year

In its first year, APSA's Centennial Campaign, officially begun during the 1998 Annual Meeting in Boston with the goal of raising \$3 million over five years to support the creation of a study center at the Association's Washington headquarters and endow numerous professional opportunity programs for present and future generations of political scientists, has received approximately \$867,000 in contributions and pledges from members and friends of the Association. This puts the Campaign well on its way to reaching its goal of raising \$1 million from external sources. The remarkable progress made in just one year affirms the generosity of APSA members and their commitment to preserving and expanding opportunities for future generations of political scientists.

The Campaign is doing well in raising both restricted and unrestricted funds. Unrestricted funds make up approximately \$628,486 (73%) of the members' and friends' gifts and pledges. Complementing the general endowment campaign (The Second Century Fund) are 12 restricted endowment campaigns: the Ed Artinian Fund, the Marguerite Ross Barnett Fund, the Beach Fund, the James Bryce Fund, the Hsueh Fund, the Warren Miller Fund, the Ostrom Fund, the Presidency Re-

search Fund, the William Steiger Fund, the Women & Politics Fund, the Paul Volcker Fund, and the Jewel Prestage-Richard Fenno Fund. Combined, the restricted campaigns have collected over \$235,000 in gifts and pledges. The Artinian and Miller funds have already exceeded their goals of \$25,000 each. The Latino Caucus will be adding a restricted fund to the Campaign in the upcoming year.

Of the contributions received since September 1998, Pendleton Herring's gift given with the purpose of allowing the Association to expand its collection of political prints has been the single

largest. Richard Fenno provided seed money for the new Prestage-Fenno fund with his pledge and Nan and Bob Keohane inaugurated the Bryce Fund with their gift. Jo Freeman's donation opened the Special Fund for Women & Politics, and Pi Sigma Alpha gave a second contribution to

1903-2003

the general endowment fund, raising their total contribution to \$10,000. Other significant gifts include a contribution from the Association of Chinese Political Studies, the first contribution from a Related Group to the Campaign. The Claremont Institute has followed suit by giving a \$2,000 gift. The Miller Fund received numerous memorial gifts following Warren Miller's passing in January 1999. Royalties from Arend Lijphart's festschrift were signed over to the campaign by its authors-Markus Crepaz, Tom Koelble, and David Wilsford.

Approximately 674 individuals, 12% of the potential population of givers, have contributed to the Centennial Campaign. Broader participation is one of the new goals of the Campaign.

To get more information, or to make a secure, online pledge, visit the new Centennial Campaign web site at www.apsanet.org/future or contact the Campaign staff at future@apsanet.org.

Assuming the position of president-elect is Robert Jervis of Columbia University. As Adlai E. Stevenson Professor of International Politics at Columbia, Jervis teaches courses ranging from the introductory undergraduate survey to the advanced research seminar. He received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley in 1968. Jervis has served APSA in many capacities including as a member of the Council, as a vice president, and as a program chair for the 1987 Annual Meeting. He was a Guggenheim Fellow in 1978-79 and is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The other officers and council for 1999-2000 are

Vice Presdidents: Guillermo O'Donnell, University of Notre Dame; Roberta Sigel, Rutgers University; Virginia Sapiro, University of Wisconsin, Madison Secretary: Fritz Scharpf, Max Planck Institute, Germany

798 PS December 1999