



## Introducing the JFM 'Outstanding reviewers' initiative

We are delighted to announce the launch of the JFM 'Outstanding Reviewers' initiative. High-quality reviews are a defining feature of JFM, and this initiative is designed to recognise the significant commitment to reviewing by our expert reviewers across the international fluid mechanics community. Their dedicated efforts in providing constructive reviews greatly enhances the quality of all our JFM publications and contributes meaningfully to the advancement of science.

JFM publishes a wide range of content, covering theoretical, computational and experimental investigations in all aspects of the mechanics of fluids. Our publications include 'Standard' articles, 'Perspectives' written by invited leading researchers which critically survey the state of a particular fluid mechanics topic, 'Rapids' – short, yet still self-contained and complete, papers presenting exciting and impactful results – and 'Focus on Fluids', which showcase particularly interesting recent articles published in JFM. Complementing these are the JFM Notebooks, which allow researchers to present not only static, two-dimensional snapshots of their research in article figures, but also publish their underlying data and code. This enables JFM readers to interrogate and probe the data further, sparking new ideas and insights.

At the heart of maintaining our high standards across the key underpinning original 'Standard' and 'Rapids' contributions are our reviewers, whose rigorous and in-depth reports contribute to ensuring scientific excellence and clarity of presentation. Their ongoing engagement throughout the review process is critical to the success of all our publications.

To recognise these contributions by our reviewers, JFM will annually recognise 'Outstanding Reviewers.' These individuals will be selected based on the timeliness and quality of their reviews, input from the Editorial Board, and a final committee selection. This year the committee was chaired by one of us (Sarah Waters) and also included three other associate editors: Ivan Marusic; Jacques Magnaudet; and Roberto Verzicco. The names of these 'Outstanding Reviewers' have been published on the JFM website (www.cambridge.org/jfm/prize/reviewers), and to thank the reviewers for their contributions each reviewer will receive a CUP Book Voucher.

In this inaugural year of the initiative, we are delighted to celebrate our first 50 'Outstanding Reviewers' listed below. The list highlights and showcases the diversity of our fluid mechanics community. In future years, JFM will annually recognise the top 1 % of reviewers. Congratulations to everyone recognised this year, and our sincere thank you to all our reviewers for their invaluable contributions.

## Editorial

Micheline Abbas Institut National Polytechnique de Toulouse, Tsinghua University, China France

Meheboob Alam Jawaharlal Nehru Center for Advanced Scientific Research, India

Lorna Ayton University of Cambridge, UK

Suresh Behara General Electric Aerospace, Bangalore, India

Luca Biferale University of Rome 'Tor Vergata', Italy

Angela Busse University of Glasgow, UK

André V. G. Cavalieri Instituto Tecnológico de Aeronáutica, Brazil

Stefania Cherubini Politecnico di Bari, Italy

Daniel Chung University of Melbourne, Australia

Filippo Coletti ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Luc Deike Princeton University, USA

Paul Durbin Iowa State University, USA

**Benjamin Favier CNRS**. France

Bettina Frohnapfel Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

**Daniel Fuster** Institut D'Alembert, CNRS, France

**Basile Gallet** Université Paris-Saclay, CEA Saclay, France

**Pascale Garaud** University of California, Santa Cruz, USA

John Gray The University of Manchester, UK Wei-Xi Huang

Joseph Klewicki University of Melbourne, Australia

Katarzyna Kowal University of Glasgow, UK

Mogeng (Morgan) Li University of Sydney, Australia

Paolo Luchini Università di Salerno, Italy

Xisheng Luo University of Science and Technology of China, China

**Omar Matar** Imperial College London, UK

Sébastien Michelin Ecole Polytechnique, France

Davide Modesti Gran Sasso Science Institute, L'Aquila, Italy

Vivek Narsimhan Purdue University, USA

Andrea Prosperetti University of Houston, USA

Alain Pumir Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon and CNRS, France

Maurizio Quadrio Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Marco Edoardo Rosti Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan

Kirti Chandra Sahu Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad, India

Vatsal Sanjav University of Twente, The Netherlands

Peter Schmid King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Saudi Arabia

**Ory Schnitzer** Imperial College London, UK

999 E1-2

## Editorial

## Ganesh Subramanian

Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, India

Chao Sun Tsinghua University, China

**Outi Supponen** ETH Zurich, Switzerland

John Tsamopoulos University of Patras, Greece

**Takahiro Tsukahara** Tokyo University of Science, Japan

Laurette Tuckerman PMMH (CNRS, ESPCI-PSL), France

Francisco J. Valdés Parada Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana-Iztapalapa, Mexico

Jianchun Wang Southern University of Science and Technology, China Stephan Weiss Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, Germany

Lei Wu Southern University of Science and Technology, China

Heng-Dong Xi Northwestern Polytechnical University, China

Xiang Yang Penn State University, USA

Yantao Yang Peking University, China

Zhaosheng Yu Zhejiang University, China

Sarah L. Waters Mathematical Institute Radcliffe Observatory Quarter University of Oxford Oxford OX2 6GG Correspondence to: waters@maths.ox.ac.uk

and

Colm-cille P. Caulfield DAMTP University of Cambridge Centre for Mathematical Sciences Wilberforce Road Cambridge CB3 0WA, UK