## DISTINGUISHED MEMBER AWARD







Clarence S. Ross



Paul F. Kerr







George W. Brindley



William F. Bradley

In 1968, The Clay Minerals Society established a category of membership to honor those individuals who are recognized for distinguished achievement in the field of clay science. Persons so honored are selected on the basis of their outstanding contributions to the field and are awarded the lifelong title of "Distinguished Member." The first award in this category was made to Ralph E. Grim at the 1968 Clay Minerals Conference at the University of Indiana. Since that time, eight other clay scientists have been designated "Distinguished Members." Citations honoring the following recipients have been published in past issues of Clays and Clay Minerals:

Distinguished Member	Citation by	Reference
Ralph E. Grim	H. H. Murray	Clays & Clay Minerals 17, 111 (1969)
Clarence S. Ross	P. F. Kerr	Clays & Clay Minerals 18, 125 (1970)
Paul F. Kerr	T. F. Bates	Clays & Clay Minerals 19, 135 (1971)
Walter D. Keller	J. F. Burst	Clays & Clay Minerals 20, 108 (1972)
George W. Brindley	T. F. Bates	Clays & Clay Minerals 21, 141–143 (1973)
William F. Bradley	G. W. Brindley	Clays & Clay Minerals 22, iii-v (1974)

Citations on behalf of more recent recipients, Sturges W. Bailey, José J. Fripiat, and Marion L. Jackson, will appear in future issues of the Journal.