Diogenes 207: 152 ISSN 0392-1921

A Note to Our Readers

As from 1 March 2005, the editorship of *Diogenes* has changed. The General Assembly of the International Council for Philosophy and Humanistic Studies asked Maurice Aymard and Luca Maria Scarantino to take over this duty.

Their joint editorship is intended to maintain continuity with the style and scientific orientations of our journal: Maurice Aymard, historian, Directeur d'études at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales in Paris and Secretary-General of the ICPHS, has been Director of the French edition of *Diogène* since 2002; Luca Maria Scarantino, a scholar in philosophy, has served as Deputy Secretary-General of the ICPHS for several years.

Synergy between the joint editors should also enhance the transdisciplinary mission of *Diogenes*, as its founder Roger Caillois intended. The new editors also aim to strengthen the links between *Diogenes* and the huge scholarly network assembled by the Council, with a view to enlarging the disciplinary, geographical and cultural range of its content. A substantial contribution is also expected from the new Editorial and Advisory Boards of the journal. The reader may check for further information at the journal's web page, www.unesco.org/ciphs/eng/diogene.htm

This issue, and the next three, were commissioned by the outgoing editor, Paola Costa Giovangigli. Third editor in line of *Diogenes* after Roger Caillois and Jean d'Ormesson, the quality of her commitment to the journal has been unanimously recognized. We salute her editorial passion and talent, so deeply influential on the style and content of the journal.

As usual, the editors of *Diogenes* extend their warmest thanks to those who have helped, in whatever way, in the preparation of this issue: Dominique Arnouil, Janet Arnulf, Marianne Bujard, Christian Caduc, Stéphane Cohen, Pierre-Emmanuel Dauzat, Jeanne Delbaere, Bruce Duncan, Víctor de la Fuente, Michel Devaux, Serena Delesgues, Aimée Catherine Deloche, María Ejarque Albuquerque, Vincent Goossaert, Catherine Fajour, Masahiro Hamashita, Roberte N. Hamayon, Ko Youngja, Emo Lessi, Jean Pascaud, Liliane Phan, Frédérique Pons, Philippe Sénéchal, Marie Lecomte-Tilouine, Jean Starobinski, Alice Thomine, Tatiana Skrynnikova, Sophie Starkman, Jing Wang, David A. Wells, Yu Shuo. A special thanks to Pierrette Friedman.

> Copyright © ICPHS 2005 SAGE: London, Thousand Oaks, CA and New Delhi, http://dio.sagepub.com DOI: 10.1177/0392192105057252