The Canadian Journal of ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

The Journal of the Canadian Political Science Association

VOLUME XVII FEBRUARY TO NOVEMBER 1951

PUBLISHED QUARTERLY BY UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO PRESS

The

Canadian Political Science Association

President, G.-H. LEVESQUE

Past President C. A. CURTIS	Elected Members of the Executive Council
Vice-Presidents S. D. CLARK V. C. FOWKE B. S. KEIRSTEAD H. R. KEMP	G. L. BURTON J. A. CRUMB J. H. DALES JC. FALARDEAU M. W. FARRELL O. J. FIRESTONE H. S. GORDON
Secretary-Treasurer C. B. MACPHERSON Assistant Secretary-Treasurer	STUART JAMIESON NATHAN KEYFITZ FRANK MACKINNON R. C. McIVOR H. B. MAYO LUCY MORGAN
D. GIFFEN	H. C. PENTLAND

Representatives of the Board of Editors of the Journal G. A. ELLIOTT J. E. HODGETTS

The Canadian Political Science Association was founded in 1913, and reorganized in 1929. The object of the Association is to encourage the investigation and study of economic, political, and social problems in Canada.

Annual Subscription \$4.00

Student Subscription \$2.00

The Association welcomes as members all who are interested in its objects. Members receive a copy of The Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science, published quarterly for the Association by the University of Toronto Press.

Applications for membership should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer, Canadian Political Science Association, 273 Bloor St. West, Toronto 5, Canada.