

Robert Dahl receiving the career achievement award from Hank Savitch of the Urban Politics and Urban Policy Section.

in 1990 that contributed most to research and scholarship in the field of American Presidency was given to Harold Hongju Koh, Yale University, for *The National Security Constitution*. Peri Arnold of the University of Notre Dame awarded the honor.

### Urban Politics and Urban Policy Organized Section

The Career Achievement Award recognizing a lifetime of contributions to the development of scholarship in the field of urban politics was awarded to Robert Dahl of Yale University. A former president of APSA, Dahl's book Who Governs? was at the center of pluralist debate for years and continues to have an enduring impact. Hank Savitch of the University of Louisville presented the award.

The Best Book Award for works on urban politics published in 1990 was given to Mike Davis for his study of Los Angeles entitled *City of Quartz* (Verso). Steven Erie of the University of California, San Diego, made the presentation.

Robert M. Stein of Rice University received the Special Award for Best Book on Urban Policy, for the best book on a special topic within the field of urban politics published in 1990. Stein's book *Urban Alternatives: Public and Private Markets in the Provision of Local Services*, published by University Press, examines institutional history and administrative reform.

#### Women and Politics Research Organized Section

The Best Paper on Women and Politics Award, given to the best paper on the subject of gender or women and politics presented at the 1990 APSA Annual Meeting, went to Christine Di Stefano, University of Washington, for "Rethinking Autonomy." Maria J. Falco of Depauw University made the presentation.

### Foundations of Political Theory Organized Section

The First Book Award for the best book in political theory written by an author at the beginning of his/her career was bestowed upon Stephen T. Leonard, University of North Carolina. Leonard's book *Political Theory in Political Practice* was published in 1990 by Princeton University Press.

#### **Computer Users Organized Section**

The Best Political Science Software Award was accepted by Bahram Farzanegan, University of North Carolina at Asheville, for INS4, a computer simulation of international relations.

Ellen Vasu and Michael Vasu, North Carolina State University, received the Best Research Methods Software Award for SocStatSim, a program introducing students to statistical analysis.

G. David Garson of North Carolina State University presented both awards.

#### Political Communication Organized Section

The 1991 Ithiel de Sola Pool award for the best paper in political communication presented at the 1990 APSA Annual Meeting was received by Diana C. Mutz, University of Wisconsin, Madison, for "Information and the Politicization of Personal Experience." The award was presented by W. Russell Neuman of Massachusetts Institute of Technology.



Michael Frazier, Russell L. Adams, and Mitchell Rice.

# Committee on the Status of Blacks Honors Adams and Purvear

Russell L. Adams, chair of the Department of Afro-American Studies, Howard University, and Paul L. Puryear, professor of government and senior associate for public policy studies, Center for Pub-



Matthew Holden, Paul Puryear, and Mitchell

December 1991 761

lic Service, University of Virginia, were honored by the APSA Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession at the annual meeting at the Washington Hilton. Both Puryear and Adams were the first two chairs of the committee when it was formed in 1969. They were recognized for their scholarship, leadership and mentorship. Matthew Holden, University of Virginia, and Michael Frazier, Howard University, discussed some of the many contributions of the two scholars.

Mitchell Rice, Louisiana State, chair of the Committee, made the presentations at the annual nightcap reception of the Committee.

## Herring Honored for Print Collection

Pendleton Herring, president of the Association in 1952-53, was honored at a reception during the annual meeting for his generosity in donating to the Association over many years an impressive collection of political prints.

President Lowi presided at the ceremony where Herring presented the Association yet another print, "Canvassing for a Vote" by Bingham and the Association presented to Herring a plaque and a copy of the Hogarth print of "The Politician."



Theodore Lowi Accepts Print from Pendleton Herring.

The Pendleton Herring Print Collection, "Political Institutions and Behavior as Represented in Art," now contains about 50 pieces.

#### New APSA Officers Elected

APSA President Theodore J. Lowi presided at the Association's 1991 annual business meeting August 31, Washington, D.C., where new officers were elected.

Lucius J. Barker was elected president-elect; he will assume the office of the president in 1992-93. Elected to one-year terms as vice presidents are M. Margaret Conway, University of Florida; Wilson Carey McWilliams, Rutgers University; and Jane J. Mansbridge, Northwestern University.

Elected to a two-year term as Treasurer is James J. Caporaso, University of Washington, and to a oneyear term as secretary is Leon N. Lindberg, University of Washington. Eight new Council members were also elected for two-year terms: Susan C. Bourque, Smith College: Germaine A. Hoston, Johns Hopkins University; Richard W. Mansbach, Iowa State University; Gwendolyn Mink, University of California, Santa Cruz; Ronald Rogowski, University of California, Los Angeles; Nancy L. Rosenblum, Brown University; Martin Shefter, Cornell University; and Hanes Walton, Jr., Savannah



Lucius J. Barker

State College.

At the end of the meeting Lowi passed the gavel to James Q. Wilson to begin his term as president. Wilson has selected Jean Bethke Elshtain, Virginia Gray, Ronald Rogowski and Martin Shefter to join himself, Lucius Barker and James Caporaso on the Association's Administrative Committee.

Editor's Note: A list of all Association committees and their membership will appear in the March issue of PS.

# Travel Grants for Foreign Scholars Attending Annual Meeting

Forty-nine foreign scholars and graduate students were the recipients of travel grants to attend the 1991 APSA Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. Foreign graduate students attending U.S. universities were selected competitively and received travel money made available by the Huang Hsing Foundation, the Asia Foundation, and the APSA Council. More senior foreign scholars who had been invited to present papers at the Annual Meeting were also awarded travel funds by the APSA Council.

As part of an exchange between the APSA and the Japan Political Science Association, three Japanese political scientists attended the Annual Meeting and presented papers at a panel on Party, Electorate and Labor Policy in Japan Today, chaired by George O. Totten. The exchange program is supported by a grant to the APSA from the Japan-U.S. Friendship Commission, and is now in its second year of operation.

A list of the foreign grantees and their affiliations follows.

762 PS: Political Science & Politics