From the Editor

Microscopy Today Innovation Awards



The *Microscopy Today* Innovation Awards were established to honor innovative microscopy-related products and methods that appeared in the previous year. Winning products and methods are selected on the basis of their importance and usefulness to the microscopy community. The innovations most likely to win are those that provide better, faster, or entirely new methods of analysis by some type of microscope or microanalytical instrument.

The Evaluation Committee, under the leadership of Tom Kelly, looked for innovations that will allow new and impactful experimental investigations. There were many innovative products and methods nominated, making selection of the awardees difficult. The following ten innovations received the 2010 awards:

Adaptive Band Excitation in scanning probe microscopy
JEOL ClairscopeTM integrated light microscope/SEM
Direct Electron DDD sensor that detects individual electrons
Dynamic Transmission Electron Microscope (DTEM)
Nanonics HydraTM MultiProbe BioScanned Probe Microscope
Luminace Contrast illumination for light microscopy
Agilent/Novelx "mySEM" with electrostatic electron optics
Fischione Model 1040 NanoMill TEM specimen preparation system
FEI Tecnai Osiris™ Scanning/Transmission Electron Microscope
Ultra-high-resolution atomic imaging of surfaces and bulk materials

Descriptions of these innovations are given in an article within this issue. Congratulations to the developers of these instruments and methods.

Details of the nomination process for the 2011 *Microscopy Today* Innovation Awards will be posted on the *Microscopy Today* website (www.microscopy-today.com) on November 1, 2010. Nomination applications for the 2011 awards will be accepted through March 1, 2011.

Charles Lyman Editor-in-Chief

Publication Objective: to provide information of interest to microscopists.

Microscopy Today is a controlled-circulation trade magazine owned by the Microscopy Society of America that is published six times a year in the odd months. Editorial coverage spans all microscopy techniques including light microscopy, scanning probe microscopy, electron microscopy, ion-beam techniques, and the wide range of microanalytical methods. Readers and authors come from both the life sciences and the physical sciences. The typical length of an article is about 2,000 words plus figures and tables; feature articles are longer. Interested authors should consult "Instructions for Contributors" on the Microscopy Today website: www.microscopy-today.com.

ISSN 1551-9295

Disclaimer

The Microscopy Society of America and the editors cannot be held responsible for opinions, errors, or for any consequences arising from the use of information contained in *Microscopy Today*. The appearance of advertising in *Microscopy Today* does not constitute an endorsement or approval by the Microscopy Society of America of any claims or information found in the advertisements. By submitting a manuscript to *Microscopy Today*, the author warrants that the article is original or that the author has written permission to use copyrighted material published elsewhere. While the contents of this magazine are believed to be accurate at press time, neither the Microscopy Society of America, the editors, nor the authors can accept legal responsibility for errors or omissions.

© Copyright 2010 by the Microscopy Society of America. All rights reserved.



Editorial Staff

Charles E. Lyman Editor-in-Chief charles.lyman@lehigh.edu (610) 758-4249

Gennifer Levey, *Production Manager* glevey@meridianartproduction.com (212) 780-0315

Ron Anderson, Executive Editor microscopytoday@tampabay.rr.com

Phil Oshel, Technical Editor oshellpe@cmich.edu

Stephen Carmichael, Columnist carmichael.stephen@mayo.edu

Michael Davidson, Pioneers Editor davidson@magnet.fsu.edu

Steven Barlow, *Education Editor* sbarlow@sunstroke.sdsu.edu

Thomas E. Phillips, Consulting Editor phillipst@missouri.edu

E. Ann Ellis, *Microscopy 101 Editor* eann.ellis@worldnet.att.net

Paul Webster, Calendar Editor pwebster@usc.edu

John Shields, *Humor Editor* jpshield@uga.edu

Advertising Sales

M.J. Mrvica Associates, Inc. 2 West Taunton Avenue, Berlin, NJ 08009 mjmrvica@mrvica.com (856) 768-9360

Amy Reuter, Account Manager areuter@mrvica.com

Magazine website:

http://www.microscopy-today.com Free subscriptions are available

Publisher

Cambridge University Press 32 Avenue of the Americas New York, NY 10013-2473 (212) 337-5000

Circulation: 16,400

Editorial Board

Arlan Benscoter, Lehigh University John Bozzola, Southern Illinois University Peter Crozier, Arizona State University Vinayak Dravid, Northwestern University Joseph Goldstein, University of Massachusetts Bryan Huey, University of Connecticut Thomas Kelly, Imago Corporation John Mackenzie, North Carolina State Univ. Paul Maddox, University of Montreal Ania Majewska, U. Rochester Med School Greg Meeker, U.S. Geological Survey Joseph Michael, Sandia National Labs Caroline Miller, Indiana University Robert Price, University of South Carolina John Reffner, John Jay College, SUNY lan Robertson, University of Illinois Phillip Russell, Appalachian State University Glenn Shipley, Citizen Microscopist Robert Simmons, Georgia State University Paul Voyles, University of Wisconsin Simon Watkins, University of Pittsburgh Cynthia Zeissler, Nat. Inst. of Sci. and Tech. (NIST)