ASSOCIATION

DIVERSITY & INCLUSION

Meet the 2024 First Generation Scholar Travel and Accessibility Grant Recipients

INDIA SIMMONS | PROGRAM MANAGER, DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION PROGRAMS

he APSA Committee on the Status of First Generation Scholars in the Profession works to bring focused attention to the ways in which class, economic inequality, and mobility can affect political scientists' ability to thrive educationally and professionally throughout their careers. In December 2024, the Committee matched donations to the APSA Annual Fund to support the professional development of 38 first generation scholars in the political science discipline. The following scholars were awarded for the 2024 travel and accessibility reimbursement grant:

Niloofar Adnani, Johns Hopkins SAIS Murat Akdogan, University of Pittsburgh Oyekunle Akinbiyi, Southern Illinois University Carbondale Abdulla Al-Kalisy, St Andrews University Atinuke Ayowole-Muili, Southern Illinois University Trevor Brown, Cornell University Shelby Carvalho, Harvard University Elisa D'Amico, University of St Andrews Aysenur Deger, Syracuse University Jack Greenberg, Yale University Dhana Hamal, Johns Hopkins University Xiaoxia Huang, Syracuse University Qin Huang, Northwestern University Jihyun Jeong, Duke University Paul Jo, SUNY, University at Albany Antonia Juelich, Harvard Kennedy School Laiyang Ke, Arkansas State University Chan Song Kim, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Sky Kunkel, Cornell University Elizabeth Lane, North Carolina State University Hoeun Lee, University of Connecticut Rigao Liu, University of Kansas Lucas Lothamer, University of Houston Ali Masood, Oberlin College Emily Mee, Indiana University Nela Mrchkovska, Vienna University of Economics and Business Naomi Nubin-Sellers, University of Houston Shristi Rai, University of Missouri- St. Louis Christopher Saint Jean, Rutgers University-New Brunswick Melle Scholten, University of Virginia Karen Sebold, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville Shuyuan Shen, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Fulya Turkmen, University of California Riverside Qiang Wu, Texas A&M University Sule Yaylaci, Georgetown University Chunying Yue, Harvard University Asia Center Xunchao Zhang, Stanford University Bang Zheng, University of Texas at Austin ■

AN CONFERENCES IN THE PROFESSION

Conferences and events, calls for papers, author submissions, and grant opportunities sponsored by APSA and organizations outside of the association can be viewed at <u>https://</u> <u>www.apsanet.org/EVENTS/Conferences-In-The-Profession</u>