# NEWS

### ANNUAL SUSTAINING MEMBERS OF THE CLAY MINERALS SOCIETY

Amoco Production Company Anglo-American Clays Corporation Freeport Kaolin Company General Refractories Company Georgia Kaolin Company A. P. Green Refractories Company Halliburton Company J. M. Huber Corporation, Clay Division Magcobar Operations, Dresser Industries Marathon Oil Company Thiele Kaolin Company Union Oil Company of California Cyprus Industrial Minerals Company

## COMMITTEES OF THE CLAY MINERALS SOCIETY, 1975-76

W. H. Haung, 77

Executive Committee
Stanley B. McCaleb, President
John Hower, Vice President
B. L. Sawhney, Secretary
Edward C. Jonas, Treasurer
R. A. Rowland, Editor
John C. Hathaway, Immediate Past President
John B. Hayes, Vice President nominee

Council

Executive Committee Chairman of Standing Committees Sidney Diamond, 76 Joe B. Dixon, 76 Robert G. Gast, 76 Sam H. Patterson, 76 T. F. Bates, 77 L. G. Schultz, 77 V. E. Nash 77 D. Scafe, 77 Moyle E. Harward 78 Clara L. Ho, 78 R. L. Handy, 78 W. L. Haden, Jr., 78

Standing Committees 1. Finance and Budget (five voting members) Haydn Murray (Chairman) Finis Turner M. L. Jackson James K. Bannerman Edward C. Jonas, (Treasurer, Ex Officio)

- 2. Policy and Administration (five voting members)
  J. B. Hayes, 76 (Chairman)
  Art J. Ehlmann, 77
  H. Kodama, 78
  John C. Hathaway, (Immediate Past President)
  Haydn Murray, (Ex Officio)
- 3. Publications E. Perry, 76 (Chairman)

M. I. Knudson, Jr., 78 Brij L. Sawhney (Secretary, Ex Officio) R. A. Rowland (Editor, Ex Officio) 4. Nominations (five voting members: two from Council, three not on Council) W. M. Bundy (Industry) (Chairman) S. M. Savin (Academic) Sam H. Patterson (Government) (Council) W. L. Haden, Jr. (Industry) (Council) G. W. Bailey (Government) Ad Hoc Committees 1. Membership John Hower (Vice President) (Chairman) B. F. Jones K. M. Towe Edward Penner W. H. Bellis B. L. Sawhney (Secretary, Ex Officio) 2. Program Quality Control Don Scafe (Chairman) L. G. Schultz P. M. Huang Paul C. Franks T. R. McKee 3. Publicity and Public Relations W. F. Hower (Chairman) J. E. Brydon R. L. Burtner R. E. Ferrell, Jr B. L. Sawhney (Secretary, Ex Officio) 4. Meeting Places W. E. Moody (Chairman) J. E. Gillott A. A. Scott John Droste 5. Placement Service

N. Güven (Chairman)

415

News

Arthur G. Clem Patricia A. Colville Robert Weaver K. H. Teague Wayne M. Bundy

Student Activities Evaluation
 T. R. McKee (Chairman)
 Janet Hoffman
 Joseph W. Stucki
 James L. McAtee, Jr. (Resource Advisor)

7. Nomenclature
G. W. Brindley (Chairman)
R. T. Martin
H. Kodama
S. W. Bailey

8. Source Clay Minerals W. F. Moll (Chairman) W. D. Johns
H. van Olphen
D. J. Weintritt
9. Clay Data Handbook
H. van Olphen (Chairman)
J. H. Rimsaite
A. C. Wright
10. Advisor to Central Office Administrator
R. A. Rowland

11. Liaison Representatives AIPEA JCPDS MSA SSSA Sustaining Members

G. W. Brindley J. C. Hathaway S. W. Bailey Sterling B. Weed Finis Turner Albert C. Kunckle

# NOTICE OF 1976 CLAY MINERALS MEETING

The 13th meeting of The Clay Minerals Society and the 25th Annual Clay Minerals Conference will be held at Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon, 1–6 August 1976. Chairman for the meeting is Dr. Wendall H. Slabaugh, Graduate School, Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon 97331.

Symposia: Clays and Volcanic Parent Materials Deep Sea Sediments Synthetic Clay Materials

Field trips to the Oregon Coast and Oregon Cascades.

Inquiries should be addressed to Dr. W. H. Slabaugh, Local Chairman, Department of Chemistry, Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon 97331.

### NOTICE OF 1977 CLAY MINERALS MEETING

The 14th meeting of The Clay Minerals Society and the 26th Annual Clay Minerals Conference will be held in Jamaica in August 1977.

For further information please contact Dr. V. G. Hill, Commissioner of Mines, Dept. of Mines, Box 141, Hope, Kingston 6, Jamaica.

### ZEOLITE '76

An International Conference on the Occurrence, Properties and Utilization of Natural Zeolites

> Tucson, Arizona 6–13 June 1976

For further information contact Department of Earth Sciences, State University College, Brockport, New York 14420, USA.

At the 24th Annual Meeting in Mexico City Dr. J. J. FRIPIAT and Dr. S. W. BAILEY were elected Distinguished Members and honored by the Society for their great contributions to clay mineralogy.

#### 416